Department - SANSKRIT

About Us

The college was started for the encouragement and propagation of Sanskrit with the formal inauguration by H.H.The Zamorin Raja of Calicut on 18th July 1964 The department of Sanskrit was also functioning with Sri N.K.Vijayanunni as the Head of the Department. More than 40 batches of students completed their Degree course in Sanskrit. M.A Sanskrit Language & Literature (General) is started from the academic year 2013, the Golden Jubilee Year of the college. Almost all the Faculty members are University rank holders.


Alumni Association was formed in 2003 with Dr.P.CMuralimadhavan as the president. Several Seminars and workshops were conducted by the association in the College.

Notable Members of Samskrti

Dr P .C.Muraleemadhavan, Professor Rashtriya Sanskrit Samsthan Deemed University Puranattukara, Thrissur., Former Professor and HOD, Department of Sahitya, Sree Sankara Sanskrit University.

Sri A.Anthappan, HOD St Thomas College(Rtd) Trissur.

Dr P V. Ouseph (Rtd ) Professor and HOD Department of Vastuvidya Sree Sankara Sanskrit University Kalady

Brahmasri Kanippayyur Paramesvaran Namputhiripad Scholar in traditional Vastuvidya.

Prof. M Kesavan Namboothiri, (Rtd) Department of Sanskrit Sreekrishna College Guruvayur winner of two awards

Dr. K N.Parvathy HOD (Rtd) Vimala College Thrissur.

Dr. P K Dharmarajan (Dharmaraj Adat) Professor and HOD, Department of Sahitya, Sree Sankara Sanskrit University, Kalady. Winner of several awards and author of works on varied subjects.

Dr E.S.Devaky, HOD, Department of Sanskrit Sreekrishna College Guruvayur.

Dr. K.K. Geethakumari Professor, Department of Sanskrit, Calicut University.

Dr.A E N Narayanan, Delhi.

Sri. Jaison Chacko. Vice President Kandanasseri Panchayat.

Sri. Rajeesh E R Member Kadavallur Gramapanchayat.


1 Dr. K. N. Parvathy 1977
2 Dr. P. K. Dharmarajan 1978
3 Dr E. S. Devaky 1979
4 P. V. Kallianikutty 1979
5 Dakshayani P 1979
6 Vijayakumar  
7 Latha K K  
8 Sujitha KR 2005


Notable Faculty

Sri. N.K. Vijayananunni (Late) HOD from 1964-1993 had edited several books.

Prof. P.C.Vasudevan Elayath (Late) Author of several original woks and commentaries , had won severarl awards and Honourary Doctorate from Samskrta Academy.

Prof.PK. Santhakumari. HOD (Rtd) First Chairperson of Guruvayur Municipality.

Dr. N. Venkateswara Mallayya (Late) with Ph.D in Architecture was a Member, Board of studies, Kerala and Madras Universities.

Dr. K N N. Elayath, Worked as Professor, Department of Sanskrit, Calicut University and now working as The Director, Adyar Oriental Research Institute and Library Adyar, Tamilnad, is the first Ph.D holder in Sankaravedanta. He is the author of more than 50 books. He is also winner of Kerala Sahitya Academy Award in 1984 for his work Advaitadharma. He was Syndicate Member of Sree Sankara Sanskrit University Kalady and also Member of Academic Bodies.

Dr KV.Vasudevan- A scholar in Sanskrit and author of several works which include editions commentaries on books.


BA Degree Sanskrit Sahitya Special

MA Sanskrit Language and Literature (General)


Dr. Lakshmi Sankar M.A., PhDAssistant Professor and HOD i/cE-mail : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Phone : +91 9447209937,0484-2705922 More Details

Dr. Sudha E.K M.A., B Ed, PhD Assistant Professor Phone : +91 9447995183 More Details

Contact Us

Our Address

Sree Krishna College

Ariyannur Post


Thrissur District

Kerala State

Ph.No:04885 235 027

Email ID: